Thenglish, ??? Mai pen rai. - Reisverslag uit Pattaya, Thailand van Wim Rooij - WaarBenJij.nu Thenglish, ??? Mai pen rai. - Reisverslag uit Pattaya, Thailand van Wim Rooij - WaarBenJij.nu

Thenglish, ??? Mai pen rai.

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wim

28 Maart 2009 | Thailand, Pattaya

For my English speaking audience.


Hello guys , How is your Dutch progressing. I sincerely apologize that my web page is in Dutch. However I do not forget about you. Today’s contribution is about language. An excellent opportunity to sharpen my English writing skills.

As you may know the Thai language is a tonal language. Each word can have up to five meanings or even more, depending on the tone spoken – high, medium, low, falling or rising. “Mai” can mean a question make, no, new, wood, silk, microphone or burn. Well this exceptional one has seven meanings. Still with me?

So if you want to say: “new wood (or silk or microphone) doesn’t burn, does it? It could be written as “mai, mai, mai, mai, mai?” Perhaps now you start to understand why Thai is almost impossible to learn or understand for any farang.

I decided to quit Thai lessons quite rapidly and to stick to Thenglish. Thenglish is my specialty. The rules, as defined by myself are very simple. A sentence may consist of 5 words max, only one verb, don’t use any past or future tense, use extremely simple words. An example: me (point to yourself), pick-up, gate, 5 pm.

Even then, communication tends to go wrong. I have already told you about my previous experience when I needed five different colors of TAPE and my driver bought me five different colors CAKE (we had a good party though). This week I needed 4 hardheads, any color but white, to have the user stand out from any common factory worker. I instructed my safety officer to “buy 4 hardheats in different colour than white”. I’m sure you have already seen that I violated my Thenglish rules (too many words), resulting in the guy being totally confused. He ordered a pink, orange, green and red hardhead. Yep…….mai pen rai. (doesn’t matter).

  • 28 Maart 2009 - 15:24

    Achie:

    So finally I am the first one to react! Nice story again! I am sure your English has impoved during your stay in Thailand, hihi! See you next week!

  • 30 Maart 2009 - 14:51

    Moh:

    Gruss Gott!

    Es ist wieder gut etwas von dir zu lesen. Bis freitag!

    Ha Joop, ik dacht ik scherp ook je duits even aan. Altijd goed om meerdere talen te spreken! Gezellig dat je mee gaat vrijdag, tot dan!

  • 31 Maart 2009 - 02:36

    Johan:

    Khun Wim,
    That's even better then 'different', 'interesting' and 'yihaa'!! Kap kap...

  • 05 Juni 2009 - 18:07

    A3&H:

    Tjonge, ook dit bericht lees ik nu pas...(5juni) ik dacht al wat een stilte...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Pattaya

PURAC Quinten

Recente Reisverslagen:

12 September 2009

Weer Thuis

15 Augustus 2009

I like your driver...?!

09 Augustus 2009

Nongprue MINI marathon

09 Augustus 2009

Laatste loodjes

09 Augustus 2009

Ni Hao
Wim

Actief sinds 20 Juni 2006
Verslag gelezen: 164
Totaal aantal bezoekers 43783

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Oktober 2009 - 02 November 2009

New York Marathon

01 Januari 2005 - 01 September 2009

PURAC Quinten

Landen bezocht: